There will be a general election in the UK on Thursday 12 December. Polling stations in Reading will be open from 7am until 10pm. You will not be allowed vote unless you are registered, and you have until 11:59pm on Tuesday 26 November to do so. Both Reading’s sitting MPs, Matt Rodda (Labour, Reading East) and Alok Sharma (Conservative, Reading West) are standing for election again.

Reading East parliamentary constituency

This includes Abbey, Church, Katesgrove, Park and Redlands wards.

Matt Rodda (Labour) is the defending MP. You can see his parliamentary record at or

Yemi AwololaChristian Peoples Alliance
Mitch FeiersteinBrexit Party
David McElroyGreen Party
Craig MorleyConservative Party
Matt RoddaLabour Party
Imogen Shepherd-DuBeyLiberal Democrats

Reading East parliamentary election 2017

Reading West parliamentary constituency

This includes Minster, Southcote and Whitley wards.

Alok Sharma (Conservative) is the defending MP. You can see his record at or .

Rachel EdenLabour Party
Meri O’ConnellLiberal Democrats
Alok SharmaConservative Party
Jamie WhithamGreen Party

Reading West parliamentary election 2017

Which constituency am I in?

You can work out what constituency you are in on the Reading Borough Council website.

  1. What ward am I in?
  2. Reading parliamentary election notices 2019
  3. Registering to vote
  4. 2017 parliamentary election results
  5. Reading East candidates
  6. Reading West candidates
  7. The electoral commission