The 2019 European elections take place on Thursday 23 May in the United Kingdom. You can vote in this election if you are aged over 18 and you registered to vote in this election by 7 May, and you are also a citizen of the UK or you are a citizen of another EU member state but resident in this country.

The UK is currently represented by 71 MEPs in the European Parliament, but the country has two vacant seats, so the UK will be voting for 73 MEPs in all. The last EU election was held in 2014.

Reading is in the south east England EU electoral region, which includes Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, East and West Sussex, Hampshire, Isle of Wight, Kent, Surrey and Oxfordshire. This region has the highest population (over eight million) and largest number of MEPs (10) of all EU electoral regions in the UK.

South East England EU electoral region


MEPs currently representing Reading and the south-east of England
CandidateEU parliament groupingPolitical partyStanding in this election?
Richard AshworthEuropean People’s Party (Christian Democrats)Change UK – The Independent Group (formerly Conservative)Yes
Janice AtkinsonEurope of Nations and FreedomIndependent (formerly UKIP)No
Catherine BearderAlliance of Liberals and Democrats for EuropeLiberal DemocratsYes
Nirj DevaEuropean Conservatives and ReformistsConservative PartyYes
Nigel FarageEurope of Freedom and Direct DemocracyThe Brexit Party (formerly independent)Yes
Raymond FinchEurope of Freedom and Direct DemocracyThe Brexit PartyNo
Daniel HannanEuropean Conservatives and ReformistsConservative PartyYes
John HowarthProgressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats in the European ParliamentLabour PartyYes
Diane JamesEurope of Freedom and Direct DemocracyThe Brexit Party (formerly independent)No
Keith TaylorGreens / European Free AllianceGreen PartyNo
Candidates in the 23 May EU elections for Reading and the south-east of England
Change UK – The Independent GroupRichard James Ashworth, Victoria Groulef, Warren Morgan, Eleanor Mary Fuller, Robin John Bextor, Nicholas Mazzei, Suzana Carp, Phil Murphy, Heather Marion Allen, Diane Helen Yeo
Conservative and Unionist PartyDaniel Hannan, Nirj Deva, Richard McDonald Robinson, Mike Whiting, Juliette Katherine Christie Ash, Anna Firth, Adrian Pepper, Clarence Mitchell, Neva Sadikoglu-Novaky, Caroline Anne Newton
Green PartyAlexandra Phillips, Elise Danielle Benjamin, Vix Lowthion, Leslie Christine Groves Williams, Phelim Mac Cafferty, Jan Hendrik Jamison Doerfel, Larry Sanders, Isabella Lina Marie Moir, Oliver Sykes, Jonathan Christopher St.Aubyn Essex
Labour PartyJohn Howarth, Cathy Shutt, Arran Richard Neathey, Emma Christina Turnbull, Rohit Kumar Dasgupta, Amy Lauren Fowler, Duncan Shaw Thomas Enright, Lubna Aiysha Arshad, Simon Guy Burgess, Rachael Eowyn Ward
Liberal DemocratsCatherine Zena Bearder, Antony James Hook, Judith Bunting, Martin Paul Niebuhr Tod, Elizabeth Pendrill Raphael Leffman, Christopher Alan Bowers, Giles Damian Goodall, Ruvi Ziegler, Nicholas David Stanford Perry, John William Vincent
The Brexit PartyNigel Paul Farage, Alexandra Lesley Phillips, Robert Andrew Rowland, Belinda Claire De Camborne Lucy, James Gilbert Bartholomew, Christopher Graham Ellis, John Kennedy, Matthew Peter Taylor, George Thomas Stahel Farmer, Peter David Wiltshire
The Socialist Party of Great BritainMandy Bruce, Raymond Dennis Carr, David Stanley Chesham, Robert Alexander Cox, Michael Foster, Stephen Harper, Neil Kirk, Anton Charles Pruden, Andrew Brian Thomas-Emans, Darren James Williams
UK European Union PartyPacelli Ndikumana, Clinton Powell
UK Independence Party (UKIP)Piers Wauchope, Elizabeth Fletcher Philips, Daryll James Pitcher, Martin Toby Brothers, Tony Gould, Clive Keith Egan, Troy De Leon, Alan Harvey Stone, Judy Moore, Patricia Ann Mountain
IndependentsJason Guy Spencer McMahon, David Victor Round, Michael Jeffrey Turberville

In England, Scotland and Wales, EU elections use a form of proportional representation where people vote for parties rather than individual candidates (unless that candidate is an independent, in which case party and candidate are effectively the same thing). Parties publish a list of their candidates in a preferred order and the number of seats allocated to each party is in proportion to the overall vote they obtained, with the most preferred candidate getting the first seat won for each party, and so-on.

Voting takes place at the same polling stations used in local and national elections, as well as by postal and proxy vote. Results will be announced after 10pm on Sunday 26 May when all polling station across the EU have closed.

  1. 2019 European Parliamentary Elections
  2. All south-east England MEPs
  3. All candidates for the south-east of England EU constituency (PDF)
  4. The D’Hondt system
  5. Change UK – The Independent Group
  6. Conservative Party
  7. Green Party
  8. Labour Party
  9. Liberal Democrats
  10. The Brexit Party
  11. The Socialist Party of Great Britain
  12. UK European Union Party
  13. UK Independence Party
  14. Jason Guy Spencer McMahon
  15. David Victor Round
  16. Michael Jeffrey Turberville
  17. Why you should vote
  18. Meet ‘Change UK’ EU parliamentary candidates at Whitley’s Hilton Hotel on Tuesday 7 May